Types of exemptions
Bankruptcy exemptions fall into groups. The groups for federal and state bankruptcy exemptions are largely the same. Most are straightforward and defined here. However, some have special rules that you can read more about below. In general, exemptions protect your property up to a certain value; if a value is not stipulated, then the property is fully protected.
- Homestead exemption – protects your primary residence
- Personal property – protects personal items, usually those which are either necessities or those which might have sentimental value
- Motor vehicle – protects your primary form of transportation
- Retirement accounts and pensions – protects the long-term savings you’ve generated for your future
- Public benefits – protects assistance benefits you receive, which often provide vital income
- Tools of the trade – protects items and property which are necessary for you to work effectively in an occupation
- Alimony and child support – protects the money you receive through court-ordered support, which may be a vital source of income
- Wages – protects income you earn (this is not protected under federal law, but is protected in most states)
- Insurance – protects insurance policies that you need to protect your family
- Wildcard – allows you to protect additional property that is valuable to you
- Miscellaneous – some states have other specific exemptions filed under miscellaneous
Rules for homestead exemptions
Homestead exemptions can be crucial because they may prevent the sale of your home in bankruptcy. This only applies to the real property that you use as your primary residence. Other real property, such as vacation homes or rental property, will not be protected.
Rules for equity limitations
In most cases, a homestead exemption will not protect the full value of the home. In most states, as well as under federal guidelines, it only protects a set amount of equity.
If you have more equity than what’s protected by the exemption, then your home would be sold if you file Chapter 7. You would receive the exemption amount back from the sale. Then the rest of the proceeds would be used to pay off the mortgage and pay your creditors.
For example, let’s say you own a home with a current market value of $150,000. You owe $100,000 on your mortgage. This means you have $50,000 worth of equity. If you live in Arizona where a homestead exemption covers equity up to $150,000, your home would not be sold. However, under federal exemptions which only protect up to $25,150 if you are filing individually, the home would be sold.
The good news is that the homestead exemption in most states will protect a sizeable amount of equity. In many states, as well as under federal rules, the equity amount doubles if you are married. So, in the example above, if you were married, then federal rules would protect the home because the equity limit would be $50,300.
This map shows the individual homestead exemption in each state, with a popup that details if there’s an additional exemption amount for a married couple. The seven states that are checkered have an unlimited homestead exemption, meaning you can protect your home regardless of how high the value is. Two states (New Jersey and Pennsylvania) have no homestead exemption.
Be aware that are often additional rules that you must meet to qualify for this exemption. For example, you may need to reside in your home for a certain period to qualify.
Additionally, even if you use state homestead exemption rules that have no cap on how much equity you have, federal guidelines say you must live in the home at least 40 months to qualify for the unlimited protection. Otherwise, the equity is only protected up to $170,350.
Homestead exemption rules vary from state to state and can be complicated. This is another reason it’s highly beneficial to have a qualified bankruptcy attorney who is licensed in your state. They can help you navigate homestead rules, as well as other bankruptcy exemptions.
What is a wildcard exemption?
Wildcard exemptions exist to allow you to protect property that is meaningful to you. If you have an item that doesn’t fall under one of the specific groups of exemptions in your state, then you may be able to use the wildcard to protect it.
Not all states have a wildcard option available. Those that do always limit the wildcard to a certain dollar amount. The value of the item you want to keep must fall below that limit to use it.
For example, let’s say you have a grandfather clock that’s been in your family for generations. You live in Alabama where the wildcard exemption is $7,750. As long as the value of the clock was appraised below $7,750, then you could keep the clock.
Federal versus state exemptions
Both the federal government and individual states have specific exemptions. Most states require you to use their state exemptions when filing.
However, if you live in one of these places, you can choose whether you use the federal or state exemptions: Alaska, Kentucky, New Jersey, Rhode Island, Arkansas, Massachusetts, New Mexico, Texas, Connecticut, Michigan, New York, Vermont, District of Columbia, Minnesota, Oregon, Washington, Hawaii, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin.
You can’t mix and match; you must choose one or the other. In California, you must use state exemptions, but there are two sets to choose from.
Federal bankruptcy exemptions
Federal exemptions are enacted by Congress and updated every three years on April 1. The current exemptions were set on April 1, 2019. The next set of updates will occur on April 1, 2022.
For a comprehensive understanding of federal bankruptcy exemptions, you should read the actual law here.
If you are married and filing jointly, all federal exemptions that are limited by a monetary amount can be doubled. If there is no amount listed, then the entire property is exempt.
- Real property (includes mobile homes, co-ops, or burial plots): up to $25,150
- Unused portion of the homestead exemption: up to $12,575 can be used for other property
- Animals, furnishings, books, household goods, crops, musical instruments, clothing, appliances: up to $625 per item (Up to $13,400 total)
- Jewelry: up to $1,700
- Health aids
- Wrongful death recovery for a person you depended upon
- Personal injury recovery: up to $25,150 (with the exception for pain and suffering or for pecuniary loss)
- Lost earnings payments
Retirement Accounts and Pensions
- Tax-exempt retirement accounts (this covers 401(k)s, 403(b)s, profit-sharing, and money purchase plans, SEP and SIMPLE IRAs, and defined benefit plans)
- IRAS and Roth IRAs: to $1,362,800
- Public assistance, Social Security, Veteran’s benefits, unemployment compensation, crime victim’s compensation
Tools of Trade
- Implements, books, and tools of the trade: up to $2,525
Alimony and Child Support
- Alimony and child support needed for support
- Unmatured life insurance policy (excludes for credit insurance)
- Life insurance policy with loan value: up to $13,400. Disability, unemployment, or illness benefits
- Life insurance payments for a person you depended on, which you need for support
- $1,325 of any property, and the unused portion of homestead exemption: up to $12,575
Bankruptcy exemptions by state
Qualifying for state exemptions depends on where you have resided for two years prior to your filing. But that does not necessarily mean you physically lived in that state. Exemptions for states can be highly specific and change on the schedule set by each state.
Again, it’s best to contact a qualified attorney licensed to practice in your state to understand the exemptions available. If you live in a state where you can choose between federal or state exemptions, or California where there are two systems, an attorney can also help you choose which exemptions would be best based on your situation.